Miss Keaton And Other Beasts
Original title: La senyoreta Keaton i altres bèsties

Miss Keaton And Other Beasts

Original title: La senyoreta Keaton i altres bèsties

This book of unusual children is made up of five interconnected tales. Each story explains the life (and death) of a peculiar, different child: Miss Clock lives out her whole life over four seasons: she is born, grows, falls in love, sees the four seasons go by and dies; Caterina is born in strange circumstances and comes into the world on a tidal wave. She finds her true place among the whales transforming herself into one; Roc Mortson is born with a pig’s trotter in the place of one of his hands and is abandoned by his dad to his own luck; “The Gravedigger's Son” tells the story of Woody, a boy born from the belly of a dead and buried woman. He comes into the world because Death herself (as a character) has a great desire to be a mother; in “La Maison Desirchamp”, the Petarol couple do not understand anything when they suddenly find in their kitchen a baby that seems to have come from the cold and who seems to melt with the proximity of fire.

Who are these kids? What are their stories? Their fates? Their lives? Their tragic or happy or mysterious endings? 

Five stories that will make your blood run cold, from a new voice on the literary scene that will leave no one indifferent. 

"Birth and death are the central topics of five darkly evocative short stories from Teresa Colom, which is Tim Burton crossed with the Brothers Grimm." The Guardian

Rights sold

La Huerta Grande (Spanish), Shanghai 99 (simplified Chinese), Jacqueline Chambon (France).

International editions

Technical data

Publishing date: | 176 pages | ISBN: 978-84-9787-984-2 | Imprint: Editorial Empúries

Other titles of the author